Wildflowers & Creeks

IMG_1270

Elle's first time in a creek

Believe it or not, this photograph shows Elle experiencing the joys of walking barefoot in a creek for the first time in her life. That sounds a little unreal, doesn’t it? You have to remember, though, that she is Florida-born and bred, with the exception of the last eleven months of her life here in Oklahoma, and little girls from the South, at least mine, just can’t walk around barefoot in creeks and ponds for worry of gators and poisonous watersnakes. There was a single reminder of our Florida days, however, when we came across a mound of miniature seashells. Ah, Oklahoma’s Cretaceous Period?

Oklahoma seashells!

The two of us were attempting to make our walk worth at least a couple of miles but I really underestimated the heat and foolishly left my thermos of ice-cold water in the car. After a short stroll around the creek we crossed an old iron bridge and found ourselves near a field of wildflowers. Elle and I snapped a few photographs while getting eaten up by mosquitos and chased by bees the whole time. All those bug bites were worth it, though, at least to me. I am quite enamored of wildflowers, especially the field of Mexican hats I stumbled upon.

IMG_1265

IMG_1277

IMG_1282

mexican hats

mexican hats

9 thoughts on “Wildflowers & Creeks

  1. I LOVE Mexican Hat flowers. I discovered them for the first time in the last year. I got seeds through somebody but they haven’t done well. Go back and get seeds!!!!!!

    • I’m thinking of all kinds of tall wildflowers to put around our front yard tree. The Indian blanket is doing great, as is the goats beard. Tall coneflowers and black-eyed Susans will do well. I’d LOVE to have some Mexican hats!

      • Then go back and get us some seeds! I can send you some coneflower seeds but I misplaced your address. You get summa those Mexican Hats and we’ll swap.

      • If I see some just out in the wild, I will, but these were growing in a prairie rehab area near a nature park. You may have to wait a while 😦

  2. P.S. That lavendar colored bee balm is pretty, too, but I don’t grow bee balm because it’s invasive.

    • I wanted something to attract the butterflies so I bought a lantana yesterday. It has to stay potted and up high because one of our dogs loves to eat plants. Worst case, I’ll toss it outside our gate by the mailbox so the dog can’t get to it.

Leave a comment