Drying Out

My mother called me this morning from Florida and after the usual banter about work, the family, and my father’s upcoming birthday, she began to complain about the rain. Tropical Storm Andrea is poised to dump six inches over coastal North Florida. Friends of mine as far north as South Georgia are under a tornado warning. My mother can’t get the German Shepherd to go outside and pee because he’s afraid to get wet. He’s also afraid of the dark.

“I don’t want to hear about your rain. I don’t feel sorry for you,” I told her. For the record, she laughed then asked me how my garden had made it through the last two weeks of Oklahoma’s record-breaking rainfall. The answer is: I don’t know yet. I’m hoping it stops raining long enough to give the soil an opportunity to dry out, otherwise we’re back at square one.

IMG_1213

my cucumbers, in better days

For all my frustration with the vegetables, my flowers are thriving. My daylily doubled in size, the sunflowers are mostly all over two feet tall, and the lavender is…doing something. It hasn’t gone brown or lost its heavenly scent. I call that a score. The Indian blanket has spread a few feet in all directions and this makes me very happy. When I brought that plant home with me last summer, there were two measly blossoms. I’m thinking I should go get more. Seriously, my desire to rip out all the ugly things in my yard and replace them with Indian blanket grows by the day!

A surprising sprawl of #indianblanket #wildflowers and a climbing ivy

Also, my theory about petunias is becoming as true as my theory about goldfish – it takes a lot to kill those suckers, even when you try. No, I’m not trying. I’m only emphasizing how important petunias can be to the beginning gardener’s precious and fragile ego.

TAKE HEED, first-timers.

5 thoughts on “Drying Out

  1. I heard tonight that OKC had 18.5 inches for May….after several years of drought….REALLY!?!?!

    Your flowers look amazing! Lightning is the best way to fertilize, for sure! (and I agree about those petunias….and periwinkles, too! ) p.s. I still have to get used to your new blog title!!! 😉

  2. I know exactly what you’re talking about. I had a garden with some roommates a few years ago and it was destroyed by a microburst. I didn’t even know those existed until after it ravaged Norman.

    Thank you, Oklahoma. You’ll make a hardened Gardner out of everyone.

    • I lost my cucumbers last summer in Florida to an early-season hurricane. I’ll shake my fist at Oklahoma if it happens again, although the blossoms have returned. I’m too skeptical to celebrate just yet…

Leave a Reply

