Florida Marches

Spring is slowly, slowly pushing its way through. Strangely, I’m a little hesitant to rush it it only because I know severe storms and tornadoes become the norm this time of year. It snowed in parts of Oklahoma a few days ago and today we were enjoying seventy-degree weather. I’ll probably never stop complaining of the wind, though, which seems to accompany these bursts of warmer weather making it a little more difficult to enjoy the outside world. We’ve been enjoying the hot tub much more lately since night time temps tend to hover around 40 or 50, on a good evening.

I am missing Florida, too. The greenery, the lushness of it all, even the goddamn kudzu. I can’t really say that I wish I was there. According to Sam Champion, my favorite national weatherman, Oklahoma City has been warmer than Jacksonville. One day, we were even warmer than some cities in South Florida. Winter – it’s time for you to go home now.

These photographs are from some of my previous years’ March adventures. Florida usually provides a nice warm spring/summer atmosphere this time of year. Beachworthy, even! Since nobody anywhere in the country seems to be basking in any of that kind of weather, feel free to enjoy these photographs of the botanical gardens in Gainesville and Jacksonville. While there are no photographs of me, I can assure you I was wearing shorts and flip flops on both occasions. My toes, already painted in a deep green polish, are screaming to be released from the confines of socks and shoes. Seriously, Winter – go home already.

Untitled

bamboo

daffodils

groud cover

100_5045

garden window

4 thoughts on “Florida Marches

  1. Dena – As I write this, it is April 5th and I nearly FROZE in 56 degree cloudy, sometimes rainy weather while trying to weed a flower bed today. I have a few veggies planted but only the pole beans have ventured from the earth and even they are shivering in their bed. I dunno, I jess dunno.

    • I hear ya! My husband and I went out yesterday and bought our potting soil and yard stuff but no plants: it’s threatening to freeze and possibly snow sometime next week. This freak weather, I swear. Next weekend, I can get my plants!

Leave a Reply

