Snowfall

IMG_0493

Oklahoma’s state motto is “Labor Omnia Vincit” or, in English, “Labor Conquers All Things”. I believe it should be changed to “If you don’t like the weather, just wait a few minutes. It’ll change.” I can’t tell you how many people have said these words to me since I moved here a mere eight months ago, back in those days when the low temperature at night was 103 degrees.

Basically, this is a story that ended with us experiencing heavy snow coming down on us all day after having gone to bed with a forecast of mostly rain with a 20% chance of snow, at most 1-3 inches. And for the most part, that’s what we got. But by the time I spoke with my mother this afternoon, she had heard reports of up to 12 inches in Central Oklahoma. This is when I promptly hung up on her. Oh, I’m only kidding, but I did tell her not to mention such filth to me ever again.

All this snowfall was such a surprise to me because I had been stuck inside a windowless medical office for three hours this morning and had no clue as to what kind of conditions awaited me for my drive home. Suffice it to say I can drive in blinding snow that has also piled up in some places on the roads and melted into slush puddles in others. I also learned about a new safety feature on my van – when the tires start to slide and can’t get traction, a little “slippery when wet” light flashes on my dashboard, accompanied by a whimsical chime, as if the fact that I’m sliding all over the highway isn’t a clear enough sign that I have lost contact with the asphalt.

I did stop off for a few photographs at Lake Hefner, though, after I figured nobody else would be out there to muck up the freshly snow-covered ground with footprints, and I was right. You can see how quickly the snow was coming down and how fat the flakes actually were. Wet, heavy, fat flakes.  I wasn’t able to stand outside for too long and I’ll blame it on not wanting to ruin my new camera by getting it wet (even though we all know it’s because I’m a sissy when it comes to being cold).

IMG_0488IMG_0491

IMG_0494

6 thoughts on “Snowfall

    • It’s a small lighthouse, still in use, but there are no ships in this lake. It’s more recreational. There are some beautiful lighthouses in our Great Lakes region!

Leave a Reply

