How’s Teddy?

My parents often ask, “How’s Teddy doing?”

They don’t ask out of favoritism, but because they are aware of my hysterics months ago upon realizing what a nightmare with four legs we’d brought home. All is good now – Teddy and I are snuggle buddies, which I find surprising for a cat. To clear up any confusion, though, he really is a dog that just acts like a cat: bats the ball around all by himself, rests on the back of the couch, steals socks, licks my hair, and is easily distracted by random strings and stray yarns (anything tassled, like a throw blanket, is just asking for trouble).

This morning, while starting to watch an episode of The Grand (I have no trash television channels and must import the dramatic filth from BBC via Netflix), I was cozying myself on the couch in my bathrobe. Teddy crawled on and up the back of it, put himself down directly behind me, rested his nose right on my shoulder, and proceeded to snooze away.

Here he is just a few hours ago, blissfully asleep at the crook of my neck.

snuggle buddy

I wish there were more moments like this. They do happen quite often, but usually after Teddy has been tuckered out from beating the hell out of me. I pay a price.

Keeping in mind that he is still young and playful, this morning (pre-snuggle) he ran me over with his tennis ball tug toy in his mouth and knocked me to the floor. When I tried to get up, he and his sixty-four pounds jumped on my stomach and swung his toy around, aiming the tennis ball directly for my face and clocking me at least three times. I lost count.

Thankfully my glasses are still intact.

After my daughter came out of her bedroom to rescue me, I stood myself up and was immediately pounced on again by Teddy who, as it happens, likes to spontaneously attack the loose sleeves of my bathrobe. Unfortunately, my arms get in the way. The act might look vicious to a passerby, much like how a K-9 police dog is trained to attack a fleeing perpetrator (we’ve all seen the hilarious videos where the German Shepherd goes for the suspect’s arm), but I know Teddy is playing and he’ll stop as soon as I tell him to be nice. And after a few reminders to stop and be nice, he did, because he’s a good cat, er…dog.

So, Mom and Dad, Teddy is fine. We all are.

4 thoughts on “How’s Teddy?

  1. I loved this post! My mother always asks me, “how is the bunny?” because she can be quie the trouble maker at times and she is a total diva. I think that teddy is so cute, and it’s hard to be upset with them when they end up snuggling right next to you. He does sound kind of like a cat too, which makes him even moe adorable! 🙂

    • He’s so funny – he’ll look at you straight in the eye, completely loving you with his whole soul, and then drool starts to drip from his jowls. Your bunny’s personality has got to make you laugh sometimes, too.

  2. The way you describe him in your posts makes him jump right off the page and he sounds so funny. Oh my goodness, my bunny cracks me up 24/7, she is full of it! We sometimes do ‘binkies’ at each other and currently her bad girl thing is sneaking into my bedroom when I leave the door open. I can’t help laughing when we catch each others eyes and then she runs under my bed, she is too goofy.

Leave a Reply

