Weekending

Our weekend actually started a little early when we headed to the Oklahoma City Animal Shelter on Thursday night, “just to look”. We brought home a Labrador/Pointer mix and named him Teddy. (By the way, all dog and puppy adoptions are only $25 through this month to celebrate Dogtoberfest.) A few of my neighbors met him on Friday (and heard a lot of filthy words come barreling out of my mouth) when he escaped out of the pedestrian gate as I was leaving to pick up the birthday girl from school and he took a run through our ‘hood. Teddy likes to dance with me, acts like he’s afraid of the dark, and also seems very attached to his candy corn bandana (not pictured):

Teddy

Teddy

On Friday, the kid turned eleven (!!!!!) and requested her birthday dinner be a burger & fries from S&B’s Burger Joint and my homemade chocolate layer cheesecake. Her gift from Matt and me was a new American Girl doll that she has been wanting for months. And here I must explain something so she doesn’t kill meShe does not play with dolls like a little girl would but instead uses them in her own stop-motion films. Apparently, there is a big YouTube community dedicated to American Girl movies and series made by young kids and teenagers and the kiddo is one of them.

100_2522

Our dining room decorated amateurishly for the October 5-9 birthday season (Elle’s and mine).

Finally, Saturday the temperature dropped to the mid-forties and we loaded up the van with coats, hats, gloves, hot cocoa, mugs, and a wool blanket and drove north to Guthrie for the Zombie Bolt 5K (my husband was sweet enough to give me a few birthday presents early – a fleece jacket. warm knee-high socks, and real gloves that are nothing like the kind I ever owned in Florida). Matt and Elle got all dolled up to scare runners and steal the participants’ flags while I sat in the warmth of the van taking photos and munching on Annie’s cheddar snack mix. Next year, I want to be a zombie, too!

Runner Vs Zombie Part II

Runner Vs Zombie

creeping around old buildings

Yes, even zombies get cold and need to wear hoodies and jackets.

6 thoughts on “Weekending

    • I may just have to do that so you all can remember that scene from “A Christmas Story”. “I can’t move my arms. I CAN’T MOVE MY ARMS!”

    • She lives for this stuff! Last year, she was the girl from The Ring (which terrifies me more than any movie I’ve seen in recent memory, but I don’t really watch a lot of movies!).

  1. We adopted a dog in October at the Central OK Humane Society that came from the OKC Shelter. She looks like she could be Teddy’s relative. We named her Cookie and she is so sweet!

Leave a Reply

