Front Porch Gardening

It’s too late to start a garden here in Oklahoma, at least with the intention of growing anything worth eating. The only things that might make the endeavor worth the late season dig would be radishes but nobody in this family eats enough of them to grow them and I don’t know anyone else who would want the bounty (yes, I expect I would be successful!).  There is always garlic and onions although both of those won’t be harvested until next year and I’m too impatient for that. Besides, I researched a bit and came to find out that the time to actually plant for fall harvest is ideally no later than the first of part of September. I have no seeds, I have no Okie red dirt know-how, and I have no dugout or patch of dirt with which to work. Not now, anyway. That’s what spring time is for. Matt is quite relieved, I’m sure.

So, in the meantime, I’ve been tending to a few potted plants that line my front porch. It started with my Spanish lavender, which after the most recent rain has doubled in size, and a couple of petunias that grew so quickly that they could actually fend off the strangling tendrils of the passion flower vine. Over the past few weeks, though, I have acquired a few more flowers and herbs: daylilies, Indian blanket, black-eyed susans, lamb’s ear, celosia, cockscomb, French lavender, milkweed, rain lilies, and a couple different types of mint. All of them are living in pots at the moment and have to be watered each day by hand.

new cockscomb

budding cockscomb

lamb's ear

fuzzy lamb’s ear

celosia

celosia

Sadly, Elle’s beloved ruby-ball cactus, named Ophelia, keeled over. It seems when I showed Elle how to water the cactus, I didn’t specify how often and so the poor thing was watered nearly every day. Ophelia drowned, practically choked on her own stem-goo (it was odd), and flopped over sideways. Have you ever tried pulling a cactus from a tiny ceramic pot? It’s uncomfortable at times and wearing gloves seems pointless, too.  Just know this.

8 thoughts on “Front Porch Gardening

  1. Ouachita Mountains , Wichita Mountains these are the main things that come to my mind when i hear about Oklahoma, Thanks for this post, am nostalgia, poor Ophelia..All the photos in this post is wonderful,fuzzy lamb’s ear is beautiful.

    • I’m very new to Oklahoma so those are places on my must-see list! I’ve driven through the Kiamichi Mountains (gorgeous!) but I’m eager to see so much more! Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Aw… My NanNan used to have cockscomb growing in her front yard. Now all you need are Touch-Me-Nots – those are fun for everyone. 😉

    • Hmm, I will have to research that! I found out I have dayflowers growing all over my yard (some regions they seem to stage a complete invasive takeover, but not here) so I might be able to pull some of those out and put them in a neat little space in my native wildflower garden (yet to be made…)

  3. I’m not sure what kind of soil they need. She had good ole WV dirt, so it wasn’t an issue. Where we are, we have red clay mud and lots of layers of shale, so once our resident gardener (i.e., NOT ME) finally has a non-flooding yard to work with, I’m leaving all the plant choices up to him. Although I really want some snapdragons and sweetpeas, so I hope he can make that happen. 🙂

    • I’ve learned this much: if it won’t grow in the ground soil, you can probably grow it in a pot. I love snapdragons and sweet peas, too, but this red dirt in Oklahoma is so new to me. I figure I’ll go with native plants that do well without human intervention and see where that gets me. LOL

  4. Dena – Have you gotten a library card yet? Check on a book called Lasagna Gardening. The author advocates laying out layers of cardboard, newspaper, dirt over whatever patch of grass that will be next Spring’s garden. No tilling or heavy work. The bugs and winter weather will do the work for you.

    • I did get a library card last week, as a matter of fact. I’ve heard of lasagna gardening, have you ever tried it? Sounds interesting! I may have to check that out.

Leave a Reply

