Whirlwind

Folks called us sneaky when Matt and I announced we’d gotten married on Thursday. In fact, the wedding had been quietly planned for longer than most people realize. I like quiet celebrations, small parties, dinner with those who mean the world to us, and Matt accommodated my wishes with encouragement.

The ceremony was in a courthouse chapel and the lady who married us had the last name of a fish. I had on a summer dress; Matt wore a nice shirt and slacks. The kiddo signed as our witness. Even our families weren’t present. It was perfectly quiet.

*****

We left Florida at 5:30 on Friday night. Somewhere outside of Lake City, the sky opened up and sent us away with one of Florida’s famous surprise downpours while I drove white-knuckled on I-10, heading west. The last thing I remember seeing before handing over the controls was another something that Florida is famous for…an incredible sunset.

leaving Florida

Goodbye, Florida

Later that evening, Matt took the wheel as the sky drew black and I fell asleep. I woke up about an hour later to see the Mobile skyline directly ahead.

Our destination for the night: New Orleans.

It’s been a whirlwind, these past couple of days. I’m adjusting to a sort of temporary life in Oklahoma, nesting as much as I can, or as much as I’m allowed. That story will follow soon – the story of how I actually have two homes at the moment but that I often feel how I have no home at all.

But for now, I am home…in Oklahoma.

7 thoughts on “Whirlwind

  1. Pingback: Whirlwind | Two Girls and a Road | Welcome To Florida

Leave a Reply

