Lavender Love

The past few months have converted me into an incredibly anxious individual. I deal with high anxiety on the regular because I was fortunate enough to be born this way (sarcasm) so when I speak of any kind of stressful situation, it’s usually something most of you would consider normal and my little pea-brain just doesn’t know how to process it. Basically, when LIFE happens, I’m all like…Whoa! Hold up. I’m totally not prepared for this. Now stop…except with tears and emotional upheaval-y type reactions and it’s pretty ridiculous sometimes.  Although I do believe that my most current situation would cause anyone to lose their marbles on occasion. I’ll tell you all about it sometime.

But for now, I will tell you about my recent breakthrough! While taking a shower (don’t worry, nothing dirty here, folks – ha, get it? Shower/Dirty? Oh, I’m hilarious), I noticed that ALL MY TOILETRIES are composed of lavender.

Here, I’ll share:

Face wash: Second Nature’s Lavender & Oat Formula
Shampoo/Conditioner: Avalon Organics’ Nourishing Lavender
Body Wash: Yardley of London’s Lavender & Rosemary Shower Gel
Deodorant: Tom’s of Maine Wild Lavender

And then there’s this:

Candles: Yankee Candle’s Lavender Vanilla tealights in my bedroom
Air Freshener: Glade’s Lavender & Vanilla for my car! A 3-PACK!

What stage of crazy would I possibly be at if I didn’t have all this soothing, calming lavender surrounding me? It’s in my hair, on my face, in my pores, in my car! A much more nervous wreck, I guess. Some things just can’t be fixed entirely, least of all genetics. Thanks, Mom!

I think what I find a bit odd is that I don’t remember selecting any of these items for their potentially relaxing and calmative qualities. Simply put, I just like lavender. Could it be my body’s reactive need for tranquility amidst all of my brain’s clutter? Kind of like those weird people who eat chalk only to discover they’ve had a mineral deficiency the whole time?

It’s physiological, perhaps. I seriously wonder if I have subconsciously chosen ways to incorporate lavender into my daily routine so as to keep my anxiety from reaching its peak. Which reminds me, I received an email from Nancy Baggett in response to a question I had sent her regarding culinary lavender and lavender sugar. I plan to bake some lavender shortbread cookies in a few weeks.

Because apparently slathering my body with lavender and subjecting my olfactory system to it are not enough – next time, we eat it.

9 thoughts on “Lavender Love

  1. I was watching Bizarre Foods w/Andrew Zimmerman – ya it’s totally related. Anyway… the episode was in Hawaii and he went to misc. farms there, and one farm was a Lavender Farm!! I was amazed that you can eat it. It was really cool how they used the lavender to season the food. I’ve always loved how it smells but now i’m wanting to try some lavender salt or pepper on my food. I don’t know where I would ever find it though – maybe online??

  2. I make lavender sugar, too. It’s awesome in cheesecake! Have you tried Bach’s Flower Essences? They are true flower essences that help remedy various issues, including stress. I get mine at a health food store. A long walk also helps. 🙂

    • Never heard of it! I haven’t had the right lavender to make a tasty lavender sugar. Now that I know some varieties are better suited for eating, I’ll grow those instead!

  3. Lavender flowers are something that take me to the past, where my best friend was dating this guy I barely knew. At that time they spilt up so I came up to the guy and told him to get some lavender flowers and gift her, she would like it. Because I loved those flowers (: Funny approach of mine… hehe

Leave a Reply

