The Petunia Bandwagon

For the first time ever, I have been charmed by a petunia*.

I walked into the plant nursery a few days ago solely for worm castings. On my way out, Elle pointed out a very unusual looking flower and suggested we buy it, if only because it is so unusual.  The flower was a simple petunia, but it was midnight black! And it was soooo gorgeous! I vowed to come back for one but only if – for some reason – other plants in my garden died and made room for new ones to be put in.

I swear to you I DID NOT KILL MY CELOSIAon purpose.  Remember when I mentioned not too long ago that one had survived a garden move to get away from the nasturtium while the other was looking pretty sad? Well, that one was put out of its misery yesterday morning. A gentle tug and it came right out of the ground. There was no root system, there was no established ground. And I felt sad for all of 3.2 seconds until I suddenly reminded myself about the promise I had made to the kiddo about getting our hands on one of those black petunias.  Wahooo!!

Then I hightailed it to the nursery only to be told that all the black petunias had been sold the day before.

What the #@%&…..grrr! For reals?

The associate really felt bad about giving me that news but directed me to a pretty yellow petunia – one that, according to her, had been moving out pretty quickly.  This was the very last one.

I won’t lie. Sometimes I’m all about jumping on bandwagons.  Do you like feeling left out? I certainly don’t, and if I couldn’t get my grabby little hands on that black petunia, then I wanted the next best thing.

While sulking about going home with a not-black petunia, I failed to ask any questions about the one I actually took in. So I had to research this one and, as best as I can gather, I have a beautiful Prism Sunshine petunia. It seems that a yellow petunia is a difficult petunia to create, scientifically speaking, at least. And this Prism Sunshine’s color stays vibrant and won’t turn dull and become brown, like all the other petunias (not that this petunia’s elitist or anything).

  prism sunshine petunias!

Untitled

prism sunshine petunia and red spread lantana

All in all, I’m quite happy with the day’s haul: a Prism Sunshine petunia, a red petunia, and a red spread lantana.

*Also, I never (in my life!) thought I could write so much about a petunia. Just wait until I get a black one…I’ll write novels. NOVELS, I say!! Or at least another blog post.

7 thoughts on “The Petunia Bandwagon

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Farm Nursery – Plant Heaven | The Garden Diaries

  2. Pingback: The End of a Gorgeous Day… « On Planting Seeds…

Leave a Reply

