All Those Rides to the Park…

Lately, the kiddo and I haven’t been hanging out a whole lot. That will change soon enough with the close of my semester in the next few weeks. The weather has been cooperating, for the most part, and giving us a few comfortable hours in the evening with which to do as we please: kicking the ball around, playing tennis in the middle of the street, or riding our bicycles.

IMGP3086

I prefer to ride our bikes around the neighborhood. For one reason, I have great neighbors. They’re the kind of people who ask how we’re all doing and genuinely mean it. For an introvert like myself, I appreciate their company and friendliness and truly enjoy talking to them.  Another reason is because I live in a great neighborhood.  It’s clean and safe and during this time of year, it smells of jasmine.

Most times, Elle and I just end up riding around what we call the “big circle”, a connection of streets that goes around a fairly large retention pond and give us a good enough workout to call it quits after a few spins around the block. Occasionally, I will accompany her to the neighborhood park that’s located all the way out near the front of our subdivision – she’s never allowed to go alone and this drives her insane! – where she can swing and bounce and run her little heart out.

I like that she’s still young enough to want to play at the park. She’s been coming here since she was a year old. Boy, how time flies.

My little Elle used to be so nervous about going down the fully enclosed slide because it meant losing sight of me for a few seconds. And this is where she learned how to kick her legs in sync with gravity and swing on the big swings, no longer needing to be strapped inside the baby swing with that ridiculous metal chain. That was a big, big deal. I couldn’t tell you how many times her Uncle Nick walked with her down to the basketball hoop to teach her how to shoot a ball. And when she was finally coordinated enough to crawl onto the seat of the bouncy see-saw thing (what is that thing called?), it meant I no longer had to hold her in my lap.

Nope, she’s too big to be held in my lap. Sigh.

swangin'

IMGP3074

IMGP3087

3 thoughts on “All Those Rides to the Park…

  1. I go with my 7 years old brother to the Yacht area for jogging, while I am working out, he is on his bicycle enjoying the ride and the view. Ending with a great reward- chocolate ice cream. Not for me of course… then of as usual while jogging, he would keep me districted about how tired I am by asking questions. Tons of them. Sometimes my mouth gets dry by answering them and the water bottle gets empty!

Leave a Reply

