Patience and Geekery

Because I’m one part forgetful and one part nerd-slash-geek, I created a spreadsheet to track my progress with my garden plants.  Since most of them were started from seed and I’m a rather impatient gardener, I needed something to refer back to in order to know when things were supposed to happen.

Things like:

  • when are the plants supposed to look like they’re growing?
  • Uh…

Yeah, that’s pretty much it. I just wanted to know when to expect these things to actually grow.

And after I noticed them growing (imagine my surprise!), I decided to add more things to my spreadsheet.

Things like:

  • Germination time
  • when to expect blooms
  • when to expect a production of edible things
  • harvest period

So far, I’ve enjoyed a salad made with things I grew! Not things…I should give the lettuce and the tomato (and myself, by golly) more credit. So I’ll start over again and say that I’ve enjoyed a salad made with food I grew. IN MY OWN GARDEN. Huzzah. It was like magic. And it was about damn time. My gawd, why is it necessary to wait 50-55 days to eat something I can clearly see has thrust itself out of the ground for the sole purpose of feeding me? Oh, yeah…some things can make you ill if eaten too early.

See, the geeky spreadsheet comes in handy for some things.

Things like:

  • When to actually ingest something so as to not land myself in the emergency room with a killer bellyache announcing, “Damn those unripened ground cherries!” because I’m not quite sure anyone will know what I’m talking about.

Anyway, the salad was delicious! I used my very own Australian yellow loose-leaf lettuce and my single, tiny, lonely Juliet tomato. I added in a handful of blueberries that I’d purchased from Williston Farms a few weekends back and drizzled in some pomegranate dressing.

I can’t wait to eat more of my own grown-by-me food. But while the lettuce is thriving, the carrots are still carroting (or whatever it is they do), the cucumbers are just now blossoming and coiling their tendrils up my trellis, and the tomatoes have stalled out, yet again. Ugh…patience. Patience. Patience. Patience. I get it. But I’m also eager and hungry…

curling cucumbers

curling cucumbers

16 thoughts on “Patience and Geekery

  1. My desire to start nibbling my growing plants is one of the reasons I have planted sugar peas in march- they ripen and bear before most plants even go in, survive frost and my favorite is breakfast is picking them warm off the vine directly to my mouth. Love the spreadsheet idea- i started a garden journal but it is hard to reference back-spreadsheet here I come.

    • I’m just really bad with dates! I will definitely try sugar peas someday because I just love eating them straight off the vine. Hope the spreadsheet helps you!

    • Maybe I’ll share a screenshot sometime, I’m surprised by all the interest in my spreadsheet! Ha. Also, the garden gets full sun from about 10am-6pm with a direct hit shooting from the east and overhead in mid-day. Only in late afternoon does it catch a little reprieve when the sun gets caught behind a tree, but it’s not for long. When it doesn’t rain, I throw the sprinkler on it during the middle of the day for about 10 minutes. The strawberries usually let me know when they’re thirsty!

  2. I know this feeling, I’ve been checking the seeds I sowed last week everyday for life whilst asking my dad repeatedly ‘so how long did you say they take to grow again?’ lol.

  3. Hmm Not sure where the ‘for life’ bit came from in my above comment, ignore it as it doesn’t make sense at all!

  4. Brava and hoorah!!! The joy of a fruiting garden is unrivaled. It’s so awesome that you’ve already enjoyed a tomato – we’ve only just begun to sell the seedlings at the garden center, and with a big fat warning that they are NOT, under any circumstances, to be left outside due to the capricious frivolities of New England weather.

    Your idea to keep a spreadsheet is brilliant. I’m kind of wondering if I may do the same!

    Also – I absolutely love your cucumber picture. So delicate, hopeful and perfect.

    • Those darn cucumbers are so fun to watch! Even the sweet peas have begun wrapping themselves around metal stakes and poles. They’re trying, trying, trying to grow!

      • My sweet peas too! I haven’t been to my garden since last week, but they finally started peeking up from the soil when last I saw them. We’ve had such a drought! But with steady, blessed rain that came in the weekend I imagine they must be well-watered and reaching.

      • My goodness, we’ve been inundated with rain! My sweet peas shot out of the ground and grew to be a few inches tall over the course of two days. Surprised the heck out of me!

  5. Pingback: Bloomin’ | Two Girls and a Road

Leave a Reply

