Garden Layout

The weather this week only made it more difficult to stay indoors doing classwork instead of digging in the garden and finally getting seeds into the ground.  After a wet and windy start, the sun broke through the clouds on Wednesday and the temps got as high as 87 degrees yesterday (woot!) which is when I actually got around to planting everything!

nasturtium seeds

nasturtium seeds

Today is the last day of our faux spring (round two) before a new cold front arrives and while I’ve been stuck inside since this morning, I did make a point to go outside with the dachshund and count flowers on the strawberry plant and to stare at the dirt in the raised beds…because staring at the ground makes thing grow faster.

Here is the garden layout:
BOX 1

I should probably explain the Zombie Carrot. Last week I found the green of a carrot outside of our raised beds. This was especially odd because A) why would we plant stuff outside of the garden beds? and B) the last time we planted carrots was approximately 9-10 months ago.  So I gently pulled it out of the ground and marveled at my teeny carrot. Matt suggested we replant it and he haphazardly put it in the garden bed where it promptly died.  Not two days later, it was alive again and thriving. I have read a little on how easy it is to do this with carrots, but I much prefer telling the story by referring to it as a raised-from-the-dead being, therefore making it a Zombie Carrot.  Besides, the text font on the photograph is super fun!

BOX 2

Because I have such an awful memory, I will soon be creating a little spreadsheet to remind myself of each plant’s watering schedule and harvest period.  I am also trying to keep myself from gauging my success on everything producing an ample supply. My joy from this will come in the form of a salad, created with vegetables from my own garden. It’s okay if some of the cucumbers fail or the tomatoes burn – I’m a newbie. But I do want to be able to enjoy a simple yet gorgeous salad of loose-leaf lettuce, tomatoes, purple carrots (or maybe even Zombie Carrot!), topped with nasturtium petals and a ground cherry vinaigrette.

Actually, I don’t know that I could actually eat Zombie Carrot.  See, I’ve named him (and assigned him a gender, apparently) so I’ve already become too attached.

(Humiliating Update – 03/09/2012: That’s no carrot! Seeing as I was not the only one to misidentify the greens as a carrot top, I can only chuckle at our naïveté.  While walking the trails at the Jacksonville Arboretum, I spotted a whole patch of “zombie carrots” and immediately knew I’d been had! What? I’m new at this. I’ll figure it out eventually. And, for the record, those are known as Carolina Geraniums or more commonly as Wild Geraniums. Let’s pretend this didn’t happen, mmmkay? Well, I’m not pulling down the posts because, let’s face it – a zombie carrot would’ve been bad as hell. I’m keeping the dream alive.)

8 thoughts on “Garden Layout

  1. Fear not… There have been many more garden plants ‘Loved to Death’ with to much water and fertilizer than have ever died from lack of human attention.
    Happy Gardening

    • Thanks – I’ve missed 2 weeks with the cats but I’ll be heading back this week for more time helping out. We just got 2 bobcats …very exciting!

Leave a Reply

