Aurora

This morning, I noticed my backyard was pink. This sometimes happens at sunrise. The tall trees surrounding the yard tend to block direct sunlight until late morning so I was immediately aware that all the exciting stuff could only be seen in the front yard. Such a phenomena may happen quite often but it doesn’t last very long and I always try to take advantage of what the sky is willing to offer us so early in the day. Instinctively I run outside with my camera in hand, each and every time. Never fails.

My view to the east is blocked by a portion of my house, but only a few short steps down the walkway and everything is visible. Photographs will never do justice to such a exquisite morning sky.

When I turned around to head back inside the house, I realized the sky wasn’t quite done with me yet. To the northwest, just above the roofs of some neighborhood houses, a rainbow took up the other half of the sky.Β  While hardly as brilliant in color as the sunrise itself, the subdued rainbow did its part by filling in the bland western sky opposite the fiery orange and pink to the east.Β  One could get dizzy having to look in so many directions to take it all in.

I really, really love these kinds of mornings. Like I’m one of the lucky few who gets to witness a sunrise like this and yes, I even drag my kid outside and say, “Look at it! Not everyone gets to see something like that!” And in a matter of minutes, it’s over. The sun takes its rightful place in the sky, sometimes behind clouds and sometimes not, and all the jaw-dropping color seems to fade out the higher it gets. It truly is remarkable.

I read this NOAA article this morning, in hopes of getting a better grasp of the how and the why behind sunrises and sunsets, the kind that leave you gawking on your front lawn with a camera. Clean air and different types of clouds play a pivotal role in our morning and twilight skies, as explained by using the desert as a prime example. Few people live there and, in turn, it has a better chance of being clean and pure – not polluted and mucked up with dust and other bad particles. Essentially, this is why desert sunscapes are so much more spectacular.

(I don’t really think “sunscape(s)” is a word, but it seemed fitting and self-explanatory, so please don’t call me out on it.)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Aurora

  1. Sunscapes sounds reasonable to me! I am staring at a good looking orange ball of fire myself (not exactly staring, as then I would become a sightless) this morning.

Leave a Reply

