Scenes from the Outside

This post is all about my photographs – the great ones, the good ones, and the not-so-good ones.  For Christmas, Matt gave me a real camera, a Pentax K200 that I’m still learning to use and probably will be learning to use for a very long time. It has been so much fun to play with and I can’t wait to actually use it, with self-assurance and some kind of knowledge behind what I’m doing. As of now, I really only amuse myself with the closeups and how pretty everything looks when the light hits my subject in the most perfect way.

Not surprisingly, I am at times overwhelmed with all the buttons and obviously untrained but I’ve never before enjoyed this kind of fumbling awkwardness.

This camera just might be the one thing that gets me outside during the upcoming months of frigid winds and freezing temperatures.  Things just look different in photographs than with the naked eye: close-ups are magnified to expose the small spider on a magnolia leaf and a sunrise over the Dames Point Bridge is even more stunning when seen from below, nearest the river and not while caught up in the rat race of the morning’s rush hour .

I’m already seeing things differently, before they’ve even happened. I’m very excited!

Leave a Reply

